The 15th Workshop on Virtual Reality Interaction and Physical Simulation
May 5, 2019 - Genoa, Italy


VRIPHYS is one of the well-established international conferences in the field of interactive physics simulation for computer graphics and virtual reality (VR) applications. The workshop provides a platform for both senior and early career researchers to present their latest results and share ideas for potential future research directions. The program includes keynote speakers, talks by industry experts, and a single track papers program.

Topics of interest for the workshop include: physics-based animation, geometry processing, virtual and augmented reality, motion planning, machine learning and optimization for animation, interfaces for creating and editing animations, perception, autonomous characters, group and crowd behavior, simulation of natural phenomena, haptics, sound interfaces, collision detection, contact handling, and robotics simulation.


VRIPHYS will be co-located with the Eurographics 2019 conference (May 6-10, 2019) in Genova, Italy.


Magazzini del Cotone, 16128 Genova GE Genoa, Italy

Call for Papers

We are pleased to announce the 15th Workshop on Virtual Reality Interaction and Physical Simulation, VRIPHYS 2019. The one day workshop will take place on May 5th in Genova, Italy. It is organized in cooperation with Eurographics.

Submission deadline: March 1, 2019

VRIPHYS is one of the well-established international conferences in the field of computer animation and virtual reality. The workshop provides an opportunity for researchers in virtual reality and computer animation to present and discuss their latest results and to share ideas for potential directions of future research. The workshop features presentation of peer reviewed papers, as well as a plenary keynote speakers and work-in-progress and poster presentations.

Topics of interest

Authors are invited to submit original and unpublished research and application papers addressing all areas of VRIPHYS. Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • physics-based animation
  • virtual and augmented reality
  • motion planning
  • machine learning for animation
  • perception
  • autonomous characters
  • crowd behavior
  • simulating natural phenomena
  • mathematical foundations of animation
  • haptics
  • sound interfaces
  • collision detection
  • contact handling
  • robotics simulation


All materials must be submitted electronically through the SRMv2 portal.

Paper submissions in PDF should be formatted according to the EG publication style. Submitted papers must be anonymous and written in English. There is a maximum page limit of eight (8) pages for each submission including the text, figures, tables, and acknowledgements; there is no page limit for the bibliography/references. We encourage the submission of supplementary videos to particularly illustrate dynamic aspects of a submission.

The publication guidelines and LaTeX templates are available on SRMv2

All submissions will be reviewed by three members of the International Program Committee. Accepted papers will be presented at the workshop. All accepted papers will be published as part as the full proceedings in the EG Digital Library at the time of the workshop.

Best papers award

Best papers awards will be given to the author(s) of full papers presented at the conference, selected by the awards committee. The honored authors will be invited to submit an extended version of their article to the journal Computers & Graphics, for publication in a Virtual Special Issue (VSI).

Important dates

Paper Submission: March 1, 2019
Paper Notification: March 25, 2019
Poster/WIP submission: March 22, 2019
Camera-ready: April 1, 2019
Conference: May 5, 2019


  • Chris Wojtan

    Chris Wojtan ( IST Austria )

    Chris Wojtan received his B.S. in Computer Science in 2004 from the University of Illinois in Urbana Champaign and his Ph.D. in Computer Graphics from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 2010. He is a recipient of the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship, the Georgia Tech Sigma Xi Best Ph.D. Thesis Award, an ERC Starting Grant, the 2015 Eurographics Young Researcher Award, and the 2016 SIGGRAPH Significant New Researcher Award. Chris is currently a Professor at the Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST Austria), and his current research interests are physically-based animation and geometry processing, with a recent emphasis on the simulation of fracture, turbulent fluids, and water surface waves.


Workshop chairs

  • Sheldon Andrews, École de technologie supérieure, Canada
  • Kenny Erleben, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Fabrice Jaillet, Université Lyon 1, France
  • Gabriel Zachmann, University of Bremen, Germany

International Paper Committee

  • Michel Audette, Old Dominion University
  • Adam Bargteil, University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Fernando Bello, Imperial College London
  • Jan Bender, RWTH Aachen University
  • Erwin Coumans, Google Brain
  • Benoît Crespin, Université de Limoges
  • Hadrien Courtecuisse, CNRS Strasbourg
  • John Dingliana, Trinity College Dublin
  • Mihai Francu, University of Copenhagen
  • Marco Fratarcangeli, Chalmers University of Technology
  • Joachim Georgii, Fraunhofer Institute
  • Prashant Goswami, Blekinge Tekniska Högskola (BTH)
  • Takahiro Harada, AMD
  • Matthias Harders, Universität Innsbruck
  • Ben Kenwright, De Montfort University
  • Dan Koschier, University College London
  • Arjan Kuijper, TU Darmstadt
  • Miles Macklin, NVIDIA
  • Maud Marchal, University of Rennes, IRISA
  • Sarah Maria Niebe Abe, Alexandra Institute
  • Stephane Merillou, Université de Limoges
  • Miguel Otaduy, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos (URJC)
  • Igor Peterlik, Inria Nancy
  • Isaac Rudomin, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)
  • Alessandro Tasora, University of Parma
  • Matthias Teschner, University of Freiburg
  • Bernhard Thomaszewski, Université de Montréal
  • Daniel Weber, Fraunhofer Institute
  • Rene Weller, University of Bremen
  • Hongyi Xu, Disney Research
  • Florence Zara, Université Claude Bernard Lyon
  • Victor Zordan, Clemson University



Please contact us by e-mail, Twitter, or Facebook.